Fighting Stcik Spell Question

User avatar
Shayd3000
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2017 11:18 am

Fighting Stcik Spell Question

Postby Shayd3000 » Tue Jan 30, 2018 5:48 pm

Does the animated staff in the Fighting Stick spell attack as a LONG reach (as per the weapon) or does it attack with a SHORT reach since it is the combatant?
Merry Christmas & A Happy New Year!

zalamx
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 6:39 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Re: Fighting Stcik Spell Question

Postby zalamx » Tue Jan 30, 2018 6:58 pm

It fights as the weapon's listed length, so if it's long reach then that remains unchanged when Fighting Stick is cast upon it.
Canadian DSA/TDE player since 2017!

User avatar
Shayd3000
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2017 11:18 am

Re: Fighting Stcik Spell Question

Postby Shayd3000 » Tue Jan 30, 2018 7:27 pm

Just curious - do you have a reference for that?
Merry Christmas & A Happy New Year!

zalamx
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 6:39 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Re: Fighting Stcik Spell Question

Postby zalamx » Tue Jan 30, 2018 7:48 pm

Not on me at the moment, I'm at work right now and have no access to my core book
Canadian DSA/TDE player since 2017!

zalamx
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 6:39 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Re: Fighting Stcik Spell Question

Postby zalamx » Wed Jan 31, 2018 5:35 am

Upon reading the wiki article, it appears the weapon would attack as normal because it gives no indications within the spell that the weapon's reach changes in any way.

http://www.ulisses-regelwiki.de/index.p ... stick.html

Linked the wiki article for reference and if you wish to double-check it.
Canadian DSA/TDE player since 2017!

User avatar
Shayd3000
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2017 11:18 am

Re: Fighting Stcik Spell Question

Postby Shayd3000 » Wed Jan 31, 2018 5:55 pm

Thanks - that's what I have too. My curiosity was more around if you had a reference or seen a ruling I had not.

I'm not convinced it matters that much, since attacking it is an exercise in futility anyway. However, the spell does mention how to handle grapple attempts against it, but does not mention the -4 AT due to attacking a long reach item. Then again, I imagine this would be assumed.
Merry Christmas & A Happy New Year!

zalamx
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 6:39 pm
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Re: Fighting Stcik Spell Question

Postby zalamx » Wed Jan 31, 2018 6:57 pm

I'm glad I was able to help you out, still trying to figure this system out as well.
Canadian DSA/TDE player since 2017!

User avatar
MadBeard
Posts: 499
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 4:23 pm
Location: Alvona, Croatia

Re: Fighting Stcik Spell Question

Postby MadBeard » Fri Aug 03, 2018 6:47 am

I have one question regarding this spell.


Fighting Stick

Check: SGC/DEX/STR

Effect: The target broom or other staff attacks a target of your choice at a distance of up to 8 yards (after casting the spell, both target and broom can move farther away from the witch). The broom is unbreakable for the duration of the spell and is considered a magical weapon that makes 1 attack per combat round. It cannot use combat maneuvers. Its stats are INI 12+1D6, AT 8 (+QL x 3), DP 1D6+3, MOV 12. If the broom kills its target before the duration expires, or the enemy somehow flees, it attacks another target at random within 16 yards (this might even be the caster). If no target is within range at that time, the spell ends. To grab the broom, you must make a successful attack with Brawling and the special ability Grapple (the broom/staff has PA equal to half its AT, Feat of Strength 10, and 14 in all relevant attributes).

Casting Time: 2 Actions

AE Cost: 4 AE (casting) + 2 AE per combat round

Range: 16 yards

Duration: Sustained

Target Category: Objects

Property: Telekinesis

Traditions: Witch

Improvement Cost: B

Publication: Core Rules page 290


When stick comes in play, more precisely when stick rolls for initiative?

Caster needs 2 action to cast this. For simplicity sake don't use here spell modifications for decreasing casting time.
So caster finish casting in second round. Does stick rolls for initiative in this second round or third round?

If stick rolls initiative in second round and if initiative roll is higher than caster, then stick would not come into play till third round.
According to this, I'm inclined to think that stick rolls for initiative at the start of third round.
Can anyone confirm this?
I'd have to be a warrior, a slave I couldn't be.
A soldier and a conqueror, fighting to be free.

"Warrior" - Wishbone Ash

tempest13
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 2:20 pm

Re: Fighting Stcik Spell Question

Postby tempest13 » Fri Aug 03, 2018 8:44 am

Initiative is rolled at the beginning of a combat round. Therefore the Stick would not act until the round after it was finished being cast. Just like if you have a fight and the guards show up it would be silly to have them roll initiative in the middle of a combat round. The guards would roll initiative at the start of a combat round and then join the fray. The stick would work the same as would a elemental or a demon or anything else summoned by a spell.

User avatar
MadBeard
Posts: 499
Joined: Fri May 27, 2016 4:23 pm
Location: Alvona, Croatia

Re: Fighting Stcik Spell Question

Postby MadBeard » Fri Aug 03, 2018 9:26 am

Thanks Tempest13. That's what I thought too, but I wanted to be sure.
I'd have to be a warrior, a slave I couldn't be.
A soldier and a conqueror, fighting to be free.

"Warrior" - Wishbone Ash


Return to “Rules Questions (TDE)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest