German - English Dictionary

Morgoth Feuerklinge

German - English Dictionary

Postby Morgoth Feuerklinge » Thu Jul 06, 2017 8:44 am

In some threads the translation question was often raised. Therefore I want to concentrate this questions in this specific thread.
Please excuse my bad English, I'm a beginner.

TDE since: 1998
Current TDE rule set: 4.1
Played adventures: 55

Morgoth Feuerklinge

Re: German - English Dictionary

Postby Morgoth Feuerklinge » Thu Jul 06, 2017 8:48 am

HEX the Dark wrote:Yeah, same here...

It would be nice toknow if the pages are the same in the german and english books. That'll be a start.

Then let's find it out. Someone with English books and someone with German should take the same book and compare some words.

But I guess, it won't be always the same page.

Thrar

Postby Thrar » Thu Jul 06, 2017 9:39 pm

I think part of the problem is that we don't have a good format for gathering the translations. The wiki pages are a good idea but they're not very suitable UX (user experience) in my opinion. Having to load a different page for every letter is quite cumbersome in practice.

Can we come up with a system that's more user-friendly? Something like a single-page list with a search field where it filters as you type would be ideal I think.

While looking for a suitable platform, another thing that would be helpful to start would be for people to list words that they want to have in the translation, even if they only know the English or the German term. Someone with access to both (like myself) could then go and provide the other half without having to go through making a list of words in the first place.

Morgoth Feuerklinge

Postby Morgoth Feuerklinge » Fri Jul 07, 2017 1:39 am

very good ideas!

GTStar

Postby GTStar » Fri Jul 07, 2017 1:59 am

Just an idea:

There seems to be the possibility, to read out all words in an pdf (Nick_Nack did this for his analytics about use of talents in adventures).