Fantasy Grounds and The Dark Eye

DK13

Fantasy Grounds and The Dark Eye

Postby DK13 » Tue Jul 26, 2016 7:00 am

Has anyone investigated a framework for The Dark Eye in Fantasy Grounds, the virtual tabletop? I know official rulesets don't exist (yet!) but I have seen mentioned online German players using the program so I'm curious if anyone has given it a crack.

Eric USNA

Re: Fantasy Grounds and The Dark Eye

Postby Eric USNA » Tue Jul 26, 2016 8:30 am

There may be something in the works...

MadBeard

Postby MadBeard » Tue Jul 26, 2016 10:34 am

Why in hell FG? It's one of the worst VTTs out there. All it's got is "visual candy". It have very steep learning curve, very clumsy UI and what is most important, pricing is awful.
You have many better solutions and they are free. I've been playing with VTT for cca 8-9 years and I've been using TTopRPG vtt. For me it's the best vtt out there and I tried them almost all of them. Although, while you can use it for TDE, it's not the best solution because it was created for pathfinder (d20 systems) and you can't do that advanced macros like for TDE. With TTopRPG I played D&D (2ed, 3ed, 4ed and 5ed), Pathfinder, Savage worlds and GURPS.

Another solution is (also free) Maptools and maptools are very customizable and you can play any system with it. I didn't learn it yet, but I plan to. I'll probably create macros and campaign settings for TDE ruleset when I get around.

Third free solution is roll20. Bern on the forum is running TDE game in roll20.
I'd have to be a warrior, a slave I couldn't be.
A soldier and a conqueror, fighting to be free.

"Warrior" - Wishbone Ash

Eric USNA

Postby Eric USNA » Tue Jul 26, 2016 4:33 pm

Madbeard -

First of all, working with one VTT does not prevent us from working with others. We are happy to have fans using a variety of platforms - whatever works best for you!