Mage Hands questions

franzel
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jul 25, 2017 11:21 am

Mage Hands questions

Postby franzel » Tue Jul 25, 2017 3:39 pm

Hi all,

Few quick questions on the Mage Hands spell:

1) If the Mage Hands are dual wielding a sword and dagger, can the mage still cast spells? Technically, her hands are free but they are, of course, occupied with mimicking holding the items.

2) If the Mage Hands are wielding any melee weapon and the mage is attacked in melee, is the mage considered armed such that she can use Melee Weapons to defend? Or just Unarmed? Does it matter where the Mage Hands are located? They can be up to 10 meters away.

3) If the Mage Hands are wielding a shield, does the mage get the benefit of the shield? Again, does it depend on positioning? Is the mage's Spirit used to determine whether the shield can be wielded without penalty?

Thanks!

User avatar
TorgHacker
Posts: 4901
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 6:40 pm

Re: Mage Hands questions

Postby TorgHacker » Tue Jul 25, 2017 6:10 pm

1. No.

2. Yes. Things can fly out and back fast.

3. Yes and yes.
Deanna Gilbert
Torg Eternity designer
Ulisses North America

Rocketeer
Posts: 113
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2017 2:18 am

Re: Mage Hands questions

Postby Rocketeer » Thu Jul 25, 2019 2:42 am

For the Mage Hands spell, the range is given as 25 meters and the DN as 10 or the Target's Dodge/Dexterity. This implies that the wizard can cast Mage Hands on another character (e.g. giving an Electric Samurai ally a set of mage hands). However, the spell description refers only to the wizard using the mage hands. Can the wizard cast Mage Hands on another character, or should the range of the spell actually be “Self”?

User avatar
TorgHacker
Posts: 4901
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 6:40 pm

Re: Mage Hands questions

Postby TorgHacker » Thu Jul 25, 2019 8:09 am

If you're wanting to wrestle someone with Mage Hands you can do it directly. That's when you use the target's dodge.
Deanna Gilbert
Torg Eternity designer
Ulisses North America

User avatar
pkitty
Posts: 362
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 12:09 pm

Re: Mage Hands questions

Postby pkitty » Thu Jul 25, 2019 8:28 am

Rocketeer wrote:For the Mage Hands spell, the range is given as 25 meters and the DN as 10 or the Target's Dodge/Dexterity. This implies that the wizard can cast Mage Hands on another character (e.g. giving an Electric Samurai ally a set of mage hands). However, the spell description refers only to the wizard using the mage hands. Can the wizard cast Mage Hands on another character, or should the range of the spell actually be “Self”?

Unless I'm mistaken, the Range is correct at 25 meters because that's how far away you can pick something up, grapple someone, etc. So that's accurate. But regardless, the mage is always the one in control of it; you can't "hand off" the spell to a friend to use.
Our group's Torg Eternity wiki page
  • House rules, indexes of all perks/spells/etc, form-fillable character sheet, and more

User avatar
TorgHacker
Posts: 4901
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 6:40 pm

Re: Mage Hands questions

Postby TorgHacker » Thu Jul 25, 2019 8:45 am

pkitty wrote:
Rocketeer wrote:For the Mage Hands spell, the range is given as 25 meters and the DN as 10 or the Target's Dodge/Dexterity. This implies that the wizard can cast Mage Hands on another character (e.g. giving an Electric Samurai ally a set of mage hands). However, the spell description refers only to the wizard using the mage hands. Can the wizard cast Mage Hands on another character, or should the range of the spell actually be “Self”?

Unless I'm mistaken, the Range is correct at 25 meters because that's how far away you can pick something up, grapple someone, etc. So that's accurate. But regardless, the mage is always the one in control of it; you can't "hand off" the spell to a friend to use.


Correct.
Deanna Gilbert
Torg Eternity designer
Ulisses North America


Return to “Rules Questions (TORG)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests