Seize Initiative and the Confused result

User avatar
Rabbitball
Posts: 616
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2016 7:41 pm

Re: Seize Initiative and the Confused result

Postby Rabbitball » Wed Sep 13, 2017 2:30 pm

TorgHacker wrote:By your reasoning though, why would Setback, Surges, and Stymied not take effect before the card was flipped by Seizb the Initiative?

Either they happen after the opportunity to play Seize the Initiative or before. If they happen before, then even if the card is flipped by Seize the Initiative, you're still resolving a Setback, Stymied, or Surge condition. If they happen after, then Confused does as well, so it doesn't prevent Seize the Initative from being played.


Because they don't prevent Destiny Card play. The reason for the old ruling was that the result specifically disallows the intended remedy. This is not to say that there is no remedy; TorgE has Bolster and OTorg had the Law of Hope. Not every party has access to these, but the remedies do exist.

There is one major paradigm that exists now that didn't exist at the time of OTorg: Magic: the Gathering. Magic is built on the idea of responses happening before the actual event as a general rule. But even then, some things are called out as being immune to such responses, such as Scragnoth.

Confused is the "immovable object" of Torg: No cards may be played. Seize Initiative is the "irresistible force" of Torg: Replace any Drama card. So when the irresistible force meets the immovable object, something has to give.
Dominick Riesland, aka Rabbitball
Creator of the Cosmversal Grimoire
"Those who will not follow are doomed to lead"—Anarchist, Magic: the Gathering
Invertebrate punster—spinelessly unable to resist making a pun. "So slug me!"


Return to “Rules Questions (TORG)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest