Can you combine combat options?

Vladimyr
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 9:57 pm

Can you combine combat options?

Postby Vladimyr » Thu Oct 26, 2017 6:02 pm

For example, can you use an All-Out Attack while simultaneously using a Called Shot Vital Blow to the Head for a +4 damage result in exchange for being Very Vulnerable?

User avatar
TorgHacker
Posts: 4391
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 6:40 pm

Re: Can you combine combat options?

Postby TorgHacker » Thu Oct 26, 2017 6:13 pm

It depends but most can be combined.

In the example you give though, it's up to the GM. From page 120:

"The GM has final say on whether a called shot is
appropriate for the situation or target."
Deanna Gilbert
Torg Eternity designer
Ulisses North America

User avatar
Kuildeous
Posts: 1363
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2016 1:41 pm

Re: Can you combine combat options?

Postby Kuildeous » Thu Oct 26, 2017 6:43 pm

I would allow it. As long as there isn't a contradiction between two types, I'd let it happen.
The Boneyard – Friends and foes within Tharkold's Blasted Land

Infiniverse Exchange Word template – Infiniverse Exchange template for MS Word users

User avatar
ShirtlessOBrien
Posts: 192
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 9:55 pm

Re: Can you combine combat options?

Postby ShirtlessOBrien » Thu Oct 26, 2017 7:41 pm

This seems like exactly what the system intends you to do in order to land meaningful hits on giant dinosaurs and such.

Savioronedge
Posts: 426
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2017 11:55 pm

Re: Can you combine combat options?

Postby Savioronedge » Thu Oct 26, 2017 10:27 pm

You tell me, "I am use an all out attack with a called shot to the head," and I will reply, "No."

Tell me, "I rush at the guard, jump up and push off the wall near him to gain leverage and hight to make a called shot to the head in an all out attack," and I will reply, "roll the die."

Need I clarify more?

Impra
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2017 6:09 am

Re: Can you combine combat options?

Postby Impra » Fri Oct 27, 2017 6:23 am

Ah the famous

"All Out 360 noscope vital blow blindside ambush full frontal attack roll."

love it.

User avatar
MalicWanderer
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2017 9:29 pm

Re: Can you combine combat options?

Postby MalicWanderer » Fri Oct 27, 2017 11:43 am

Impra wrote:Ah the famous

"All Out 360 noscope vital blow blindside ambush full frontal attack roll."

love it.

Clearly we need an "MLG Pro" combat option.

Savioronedge wrote:You tell me, "I am use an all out attack with a called shot to the head," and I will reply, "No."

Tell me, "I rush at the guard, jump up and push off the wall near him to gain leverage and hight to make a called shot to the head in an all out attack," and I will reply, "roll the die."

The more charitable answer to the former might be, "what does that look like?" At which point they'll probably either think for a moment and give you something like the latter, or say "I don't know," or "I guess that wouldn't actually make sense." Which is when you either say "guess not" or, more charitably again, help them come up with something.

marshal kt
Posts: 36
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2017 6:13 pm

Re: Can you combine combat options?

Postby marshal kt » Fri Oct 27, 2017 3:25 pm

Having played and run Savage Worlds, which was influenced by oTorg, and has influenced TORG:E, I've used the following example.
Picture any action movie, where the hero and villain are slugging it out. At the end of a long, protracted fight, both have their guards down and are just trading blows. Each is putting everything he has left into it and hoping that the other will drop.
That's a v version of an all out attack.

User avatar
ShirtlessOBrien
Posts: 192
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2017 9:55 pm

Re: Can you combine combat options?

Postby ShirtlessOBrien » Fri Oct 27, 2017 3:52 pm

MalicWanderer wrote:The more charitable answer to the former might be, "what does that look like?"


Something like this?

Clip from movie 300 - some gore, lots of overacting

Dlw32
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2017 7:01 pm

Re: Can you combine combat options?

Postby Dlw32 » Fri Oct 27, 2017 4:11 pm

I'd let the players combine whatever made sense like you can't combine Called Shot and Blind Fire... or if the situation prevented it like going for a called shot on his right leg when you can only see the target's head (or if the target doesn't have a right leg I suppose).

Called Shot and All-Out seem reasonable.


Return to “Rules Questions (TORG)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests