Page 4 of 4

Re: DISREGARD Re: Range and LOS of spells etc.

Posted: Thu Apr 11, 2019 11:55 am
by TorgHacker
vaminion wrote:
TorgHacker wrote:Okay, to be clear, the breaking LoS doesn't _force_ the Concentration test. You only check the LoS requirement when a Concentration test is made. This avoids the "I duck behind a rock" tactic.


I was thinking something like the bad guy drops a smoke bomb between me and Bob and then shoots me or something.



As long as you can see him, you're okay. If he's able to shoot you, chances are, you're able to see him too.


Does Telekinesis end? I'm assuming not given the wording on it.



No, it doesn't.


Presumably combining Cloud Mind and an attack roll would also end a Concentration power targeting the psi.


As long as the attack came from someone else and did damage. If it comes from the psi manifesting Cloud Mind, then they're revealed. If the attack didn't do damage (or an interaction attack didn't succeed) then there's no Concentration test so no ending of the effect.

Re: DISREGARD Re: Range and LOS of spells etc.

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 12:01 pm
by Sir Awesome
Why would TK not end. If you can no longer see Bob and a Conc check is forced. I would assume that by current raw that the TK would end and Bob would be dropped.

Where is my assumption incorrect?

Re: DISREGARD Re: Range and LOS of spells etc.

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 12:10 pm
by GeniusCodeMonkey
Sir Awesome wrote:Why would TK not end. If you can no longer see Bob and a Conc check is forced. I would assume that by current raw that the TK would end and Bob would be dropped.

Where is my assumption incorrect?


Maybe, but I would assume how TK would work, you would need to be able to 'feel' how much pressure you're exertion on something so you don't break it or drop it (like you do with lifting your phone with you hands). If you can feel that pressure, why would not being able to see it mean you can no longer 'touch' it. You don't drop your phone just because you close your eyes (if you do, I apologise now for being insensitive to this debilitating affliction).

Re: DISREGARD Re: Range and LOS of spells etc.

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 3:18 pm
by vaminion
Sir Awesome wrote:Why would TK not end. If you can no longer see Bob and a Conc check is forced. I would assume that by current raw that the TK would end and Bob would be dropped.

Where is my assumption incorrect?


My understanding is that TK is an effect that is active on the psychic that allows them to move things with their mind. For example, if I activate the power on round 1 I can fly on round 2, grab a gem on round 3, and levitate Bob up to Dr. Evil's window on round 4. If I lose LoS to Bob then I cannot levitate him anymore, but the power itself is still active because I always have LoS to myself.

Re: DISREGARD Re: Range and LOS of spells etc.

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 5:25 pm
by GeniusCodeMonkey
vaminion wrote:
Sir Awesome wrote:Why would TK not end. If you can no longer see Bob and a Conc check is forced. I would assume that by current raw that the TK would end and Bob would be dropped.

Where is my assumption incorrect?


My understanding is that TK is an effect that is active on the psychic that allows them to move things with their mind. For example, if I activate the power on round 1 I can fly on round 2, grab a gem on round 3, and levitate Bob up to Dr. Evil's window on round 4. If I lose LoS to Bob then I cannot levitate him anymore, but the power itself is still active because I always have LoS to myself.


On a pedantic note... do you have LOS on yourself? If you look away from your body, you can't see any part of yourself anymore, QED you would drop like a brick.

Which is probably why this thread should be disregarded as per the title.

Re: DISREGARD Re: Range and LOS of spells etc.

Posted: Wed Apr 17, 2019 5:46 pm
by TorgHacker
vaminion wrote:
Sir Awesome wrote:Why would TK not end. If you can no longer see Bob and a Conc check is forced. I would assume that by current raw that the TK would end and Bob would be dropped.

Where is my assumption incorrect?


My understanding is that TK is an effect that is active on the psychic that allows them to move things with their mind. For example, if I activate the power on round 1 I can fly on round 2, grab a gem on round 3, and levitate Bob up to Dr. Evil's window on round 4. If I lose LoS to Bob then I cannot levitate him anymore, but the power itself is still active because I always have LoS to myself.


Your understanding is correct.

Re: DISREGARD Re: Range and LOS of spells etc.

Posted: Fri Apr 26, 2019 12:29 pm
by Sir Awesome
Ok does that mean that I can cast Tk on other Psi characters to allow them to move things with their mind? No where does it say that it is self only.

Re: DISREGARD Re: Range and LOS of spells etc.

Posted: Fri Apr 26, 2019 12:45 pm
by TorgHacker
Sir Awesome wrote:Ok does that mean that I can cast Tk on other Psi characters to allow them to move things with their mind? No where does it say that it is self only.


No. While I can see a rules lawyer-y argument that the first paragraph implies that this could be manfiested on "a psi" as in "any" psi...

this is not a legal document. :-)