pkitty wrote:Helped a player build a dwarf tonight and had a few questions (and one suggestion) regarding Runemaker:
1. Carving a "quick rune" as an action requires a roll against dwarven runes. What about carving a permanent rune into equipment -- does that still require a skill roll? The rules aren't explicit here, and I read it as "yes because assume the rules from earlier still apply" while he read it as "no because this is a different situation and it doesn't say it does."
No. The section on permanent runes specifies what you need to do: spend an hour doing it, and then it can be activated or deactivated without a test.
The thing with "quick runes" is that it takes an action and could fail...so you either precast...or you don't but need to take an action during combat to specify which one you're using. Note that nothing actually happens if you fail...the only loss is the loss of the action...and you don't get any benefit for Good or Outstanding successes.
2. Can an item have multiple permanent runes? Can I give my axe a Wind rune and Stone rune so it staggers and is favored?
Good question, but no. Runed items are effectively Enchanted items, not Arcane or Artifacts.
3. Permanent runes can be switched on and off. So can you carve more than three permanent runes, as long as you activate no more than three at once?
4. I figure the answer to #3 is "no," but if so then does that mean that once you carve three permanent runes, you're done forever? You can't upgrade your gear, etc.?
If it was "yes" you could always destroy the item, and start again.
5. Also, if the answer to #3 is "no," there's no reason you'd ever need to bother switching off Stone or Wind runes, right? It's just for things like Fire, that would be inconvenient?
And a suggestion, from my player:
6. It's a bit hard to swallow the idea that someone can only carry three pebbles, when it seems that the runemaker is just smoothing out stones that are otherwise normal. Upon careful reflection, we realized that this would make much more sense if it was stated (or even just rephrased to imply) that there was a bit of partial enchantment going on here. If it's not too late, just changing "can make new stones" to "can magically prepare new stones" would be helpful.
It's already gone to print.