Page 1 of 1

For 4-case contradiction what can you do?

Posted: Mon Feb 03, 2020 2:46 am
by AceBacker
I am a little fuzzy about one edge case.

When making an attack using a weapon that has a higher axiom limit than your character and the land (4-case contradiction). And your first roll is a 2, you would normally disconnect. Can you burn a possibility to add to the roll so that you do not disconnect? How about a drama or hero card?

Thank You,
Jason

Re: For 4-case contradiction what can you do?

Posted: Mon Feb 03, 2020 4:22 am
by Istrian
As I understand it so far, you would disconnect even if spending possibilities: only the first die counts (as with Malfunctions). However if you spend possibilities you may succeed at your action before disconnecting.

The only thing that would prevent a disconnection at this point is a Second Chance card as it rerolls the whole roll.

Re: For 4-case contradiction what can you do?

Posted: Mon Feb 03, 2020 8:06 am
by TorgHacker
AceBacker wrote:I am a little fuzzy about one edge case.

When making an attack using a weapon that has a higher axiom limit than your character and the land (4-case contradiction). And your first roll is a 2, you would normally disconnect. Can you burn a possibility to add to the roll so that you do not disconnect? How about a drama or hero card?

Thank You,
Jason


Disconnection happens immediately. Contradiction checks are similar to Mishaps but aren't actually Mishaps.

Re: For 4-case contradiction what can you do?

Posted: Mon Feb 03, 2020 11:13 am
by AceBacker
Is every normal attack also a contradiction check?

In the FAQ it says you disconnect immediately and do not hit. So, spending a possibility is pointless? Right?

Sorry I just am trying to make sure I understand this correctly.

Re: For 4-case contradiction what can you do?

Posted: Mon Feb 03, 2020 11:23 am
by Gargoyle
AceBacker wrote:Is every normal attack also a contradiction check?

In the FAQ it says you disconnect immediately and do not hit. So, spending a possibility is pointless? Right?

Sorry I just am trying to make sure I understand this correctly.


Every skill roll including attacks can be a contradiction if using a tool that exceeds your axioms or that of the realm you are in.
Since you disconnect immediately, you can't spend a possibility or use Hero or Drama cards.

Re: For 4-case contradiction what can you do?

Posted: Mon Feb 03, 2020 11:49 am
by TorgHacker
Gargoyle wrote:
AceBacker wrote:Is every normal attack also a contradiction check?

In the FAQ it says you disconnect immediately and do not hit. So, spending a possibility is pointless? Right?

Sorry I just am trying to make sure I understand this correctly.


Every skill roll including attacks can be a contradiction if using a tool that exceeds your axioms or that of the realm you are in.
Since you disconnect immediately, you can't spend a possibility or use Hero or Drama cards.


This is correct.

Re: For 4-case contradiction what can you do?

Posted: Mon Feb 03, 2020 11:50 am
by Savioronedge
AceBacker wrote:Is every normal attack also a contradiction check?

In the FAQ it says you disconnect immediately and do not hit. So, spending a possibility is pointless? Right?

Sorry I just am trying to make sure I understand this correctly.

Actually, spending a possibility is no longer an option at that point, as you have already disconnected.

The only viable save vs disconnection is a Second Chance card.

Re: For 4-case contradiction what can you do?

Posted: Mon Feb 03, 2020 12:17 pm
by AceBacker
Makes perfect sense. Thank you!