For 4-case contradiction what can you do?

AceBacker
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2019 6:25 pm

For 4-case contradiction what can you do?

Postby AceBacker » Mon Feb 03, 2020 2:46 am

I am a little fuzzy about one edge case.

When making an attack using a weapon that has a higher axiom limit than your character and the land (4-case contradiction). And your first roll is a 2, you would normally disconnect. Can you burn a possibility to add to the roll so that you do not disconnect? How about a drama or hero card?

Thank You,
Jason

Istrian
Posts: 184
Joined: Wed May 01, 2019 7:18 am
Location: Cyberpapacy (Paris)

Re: For 4-case contradiction what can you do?

Postby Istrian » Mon Feb 03, 2020 4:22 am

As I understand it so far, you would disconnect even if spending possibilities: only the first die counts (as with Malfunctions). However if you spend possibilities you may succeed at your action before disconnecting.

The only thing that would prevent a disconnection at this point is a Second Chance card as it rerolls the whole roll.

User avatar
TorgHacker
Posts: 4901
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 6:40 pm

Re: For 4-case contradiction what can you do?

Postby TorgHacker » Mon Feb 03, 2020 8:06 am

AceBacker wrote:I am a little fuzzy about one edge case.

When making an attack using a weapon that has a higher axiom limit than your character and the land (4-case contradiction). And your first roll is a 2, you would normally disconnect. Can you burn a possibility to add to the roll so that you do not disconnect? How about a drama or hero card?

Thank You,
Jason


Disconnection happens immediately. Contradiction checks are similar to Mishaps but aren't actually Mishaps.
Deanna Gilbert
Torg Eternity designer
Ulisses North America

AceBacker
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2019 6:25 pm

Re: For 4-case contradiction what can you do?

Postby AceBacker » Mon Feb 03, 2020 11:13 am

Is every normal attack also a contradiction check?

In the FAQ it says you disconnect immediately and do not hit. So, spending a possibility is pointless? Right?

Sorry I just am trying to make sure I understand this correctly.

User avatar
Gargoyle
Posts: 1797
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2016 8:20 pm

Re: For 4-case contradiction what can you do?

Postby Gargoyle » Mon Feb 03, 2020 11:23 am

AceBacker wrote:Is every normal attack also a contradiction check?

In the FAQ it says you disconnect immediately and do not hit. So, spending a possibility is pointless? Right?

Sorry I just am trying to make sure I understand this correctly.


Every skill roll including attacks can be a contradiction if using a tool that exceeds your axioms or that of the realm you are in.
Since you disconnect immediately, you can't spend a possibility or use Hero or Drama cards.
"That old chestnut?"

Gargoyle

User avatar
TorgHacker
Posts: 4901
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 6:40 pm

Re: For 4-case contradiction what can you do?

Postby TorgHacker » Mon Feb 03, 2020 11:49 am

Gargoyle wrote:
AceBacker wrote:Is every normal attack also a contradiction check?

In the FAQ it says you disconnect immediately and do not hit. So, spending a possibility is pointless? Right?

Sorry I just am trying to make sure I understand this correctly.


Every skill roll including attacks can be a contradiction if using a tool that exceeds your axioms or that of the realm you are in.
Since you disconnect immediately, you can't spend a possibility or use Hero or Drama cards.


This is correct.
Deanna Gilbert
Torg Eternity designer
Ulisses North America

Savioronedge
Posts: 546
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2017 11:55 pm

Re: For 4-case contradiction what can you do?

Postby Savioronedge » Mon Feb 03, 2020 11:50 am

AceBacker wrote:Is every normal attack also a contradiction check?

In the FAQ it says you disconnect immediately and do not hit. So, spending a possibility is pointless? Right?

Sorry I just am trying to make sure I understand this correctly.

Actually, spending a possibility is no longer an option at that point, as you have already disconnected.

The only viable save vs disconnection is a Second Chance card.

AceBacker
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 23, 2019 6:25 pm

Re: For 4-case contradiction what can you do?

Postby AceBacker » Mon Feb 03, 2020 12:17 pm

Makes perfect sense. Thank you!


Return to “Rules Questions (TORG)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 13 guests