Using Slandar on self & other Salandar questions

Morgoth
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2016 3:41 am

Using Slandar on self & other Salandar questions

Postby Morgoth » Sun Nov 11, 2018 10:29 am

So the transformation spell Salandar can be used by the caster on himself. Could the caster then theoratically use it to transform into a bird, and fly away, or scout enemy terrain?

The spell states the target only has dim memories of his time as an animal, does that mean the spell is best used on self as an escape, fast travel option or a disguise rather than to scout?

On casting the spell at an enemy; suppose the mage uses the spell to transform an orc into a plant, like a beanstalk. That means the party can just hack away at it until its dead right? Are attacks against the transformed target an auto success or a coup de grace, or would you require players to roll for every attack?

tempest13
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 2:20 pm

Re: Using Slandar on self & other Salandar questions

Postby tempest13 » Sun Nov 11, 2018 11:19 am

Salander is not for use on "self". The polymorph self spells are in the upcoming magic book and are divided into three spells - polymorph into flying creature, land creatures, and sea creatures.

Why go to the trouble of trying to make a orc a beanstalk just do what King Trent of Xanth fame did. He turned anyone he did not like into a fish on land. Wait several minutes and viola no more problem.
Last edited by tempest13 on Mon Nov 12, 2018 9:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Bosper
Posts: 598
Joined: Mon May 30, 2016 8:38 am

Re: Using Slandar on self & other Salandar questions

Postby Bosper » Sun Nov 11, 2018 11:59 am

Its definetely no coup de grace. such a thing doesnt exist in the rules and the spell description says that its no easy thing to do to just pluck a transformed warrior like a flower. BUT if there is no other enemy around you can assume to kill it in a half a dozen hits, just like normal. (it still would take 8 rounds to cast and 16 Astral points, which is quite much)

Selftransformation should be possible (living creature includes , touch and self), but without control or memory. you only keep a little bit of your mental abilities, basically really turning you into an animal, behaving like it. Keeping control and memory is a spell variant you have to learn (Aventurian Magic I ). So the base version could be an escape, without recollection of the path you've taken. The specialist variant can be used to turn yourself or allies into scouts and spies. If you want to turn something in something bigger, you need different spells.

tempest13
Posts: 94
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2017 2:20 pm

Re: Using Slandar on self & other Salandar questions

Postby tempest13 » Mon Nov 12, 2018 9:31 am

One of the enhancements for Salander ( found in the Aventuria magic I) allows the recipient to remember what transpires while in animal form. This would allow for scouting missions with the spell.

User avatar
Bosper
Posts: 598
Joined: Mon May 30, 2016 8:38 am

Re: Using Slandar on self & other Salandar questions

Postby Bosper » Mon Nov 12, 2018 12:59 pm

yup thats what i wrote in the post above yours


Return to “Rules Questions (TDE)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests