Mistranslation in Core Rules (Binding of the Staff)

Denshi
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 12:22 pm

Mistranslation in Core Rules (Binding of the Staff)

Postby Denshi » Sat Jan 12, 2019 5:20 pm

Found a mistranslation in the “Binding of the Staff” enchantment (Core Rules page 276):
German source wrote:Einzig elementares Feuer, das heißer brennt als ein Drachenodem oder ein IGNIFAXIUS, oder aber gezielte Antimagie können ihn zerstören.

Official English translation wrote:Only a directed anti-magic spell, an Ignifaxius spell, or an elemental fire burning hotter than a dragon's breath can destroy it.

Correct English translation wrote:Only elemental fire—burning hotter than a dragon's breath or an Ignifaxius spell—or a directed anti-magic spell can destroy it.

The translator seems to have assumed a comma where there is none in the German source. It's a difficult sentence to translate into English. The German language has this bad habit of packing too much information into one sentence. Perhaps this one should be split into two.

To clarify: The Ignifaxius spell can not destroy a staff enchanted with the “Binding of the Staff” enchantment.

I hope this mistranslation will not make its way into Magic1 because there are similar enchantments in that book.

Morgoth
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Jun 11, 2016 3:41 am

Re: Mistranslation in Core Rules (Binding of the Staff)

Postby Morgoth » Mon Jan 14, 2019 4:55 pm

Interesting, thanks for posting this. This makes a lot of difference; basically with the current translation any mage with ignifaxius can destroy another mages staff by casting the spell enough times that it overcomes the staff's hardness. With your translation the staff is immune to ignifaxius.

Can we get an official clarification?

Thrar
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2016 1:41 am

Re: Mistranslation in Core Rules (Binding of the Staff)

Postby Thrar » Tue Jan 15, 2019 4:20 am



Return to “Rules Questions (TDE)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests