Greetings From Ottawa, Ontario

JohnK

Greetings From Ottawa, Ontario

Postby JohnK » Wed Sep 06, 2017 9:24 pm

Hullo, there,

My name is John Kahane, I'm a former translator with the government here, and a long-time roleplayer (more than 40 years worth). I'm a relative latecomer to The Dark Eye, having picked up a ton of stuff for the game at GenCon 2017. I had heard of the game during the early KS days, but missed out on the main rulebook KS due to lack of funds, and didn't fund the other Kickstarters much to my chagrin. (I missed out on getting in on the Warring Kingdoms KS late backer as I was returning from Indy on that day, and didn't get to a computer in time. *sigh*

The Dark Eye looks like the fantasy roleplaying game that I've been looking for since I stopped running the old SPI DRAGONQUEST RPG in late 1993 or so. I've been bouncing around with a few fantasy roleplaying games since then, but with this rpg, I think I've found a new home. I've only scratched the surface of the main rulebook so far, but I've got a few ideas from what I've read, and am looking forward to running it.

In the meantime, I hope to converse with folks here about the game, and look forward to learning what I can about the game and contributing some material to the English The Dark Eye community.

Thanks for letting me in! :)
=====
"They're High Lords, for God's sake! You can't just walk up to one and say, "How you doing? Feel like dying now?" you know!" - Abraham Horowitz, priest

JohnK
e-mail: johnk100@sympatico.ca
blog: http://jkahane.livejournal.com

Bosper

Re: Greetings From Ottawa, Ontario

Postby Bosper » Thu Sep 07, 2017 12:46 pm

Hi John,
welcome to Aventuria . I hope that the game will prove to be what you are looking for. It defenitely is, was and will be my RPG Home, i might look into some other games here and there, but TDE always is what i want to get back into.
So if i can help out with rules, lore or some experience in running the game, just let me know.

JohnK