loot/rewards questions

thelordoftherats

loot/rewards questions

Postby thelordoftherats » Thu Aug 24, 2017 1:46 pm

I have been GMing the Dark Eye for about 9 months or so (whenever it came out in the U.S.) and I have some questions regarding giving out treasure and items. What is the typical loot haul of an adventure in silverthalers? 100, 200 each? What kind of pricing should I use for exceptional weapons and armor and what are the recommendations? I have heard there is a supplement coming out sometime soon that may address some the questions, but I am still adjusting to the feel of the game setting and rules. I don't want to give out too much but I don't want to be stingy either. Thank you for your replies.

Tenushath

Re: loot/rewards questions

Postby Tenushath » Thu Aug 24, 2017 3:45 pm

Loot? In The Dark Eye? Haha.

Seriously though, the Dark Eye, as written, is far away from Monty Haul campaigns. Oftentimes the only rewards players get are the skins/other parts of wild animals/creatures killed and other raw resources found. Sometimes they can glean rewards for services rendered but in general they aren't going to get hard currency very often.

So how do they pay for that bright and shiny sword? Well they have to get creative. Offer to work for the blacksmith handling errands/chores he needs completed. Beg, borrow...steal?

One of my favorite things about The Dark Eye is the shift away from treasure as a steady source of income for PCs.

~Tenu

Flash

Postby Flash » Thu Aug 24, 2017 4:11 pm

Tenushath wrote:Loot? In The Dark Eye? Haha.

Seriously though, the Dark Eye, as written, is far away from Monty Haul campaigns. Oftentimes the only rewards players get are the skins/other parts of wild animals/creatures killed and other raw resources found. Sometimes they can glean rewards for services rendered but in general they aren't going to get hard currency very often.