Mastery Perk

User avatar
TorgHacker
Posts: 4504
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 6:40 pm

Mastery Perk

Postby TorgHacker » Fri Jul 14, 2017 11:58 pm

Just something I wanted to highlight since I have this weird feeling that people haven't realized it.

You can only have one skill that goes above +5 adds by taking the Mastery Perk, because unless an exception has been highlighted, you can only take each individual Perk once.
Deanna Gilbert
Torg Eternity designer
Ulisses North America

User avatar
Atama
Posts: 981
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2017 12:30 am
Location: Auburn, WA

Re: Mastery Perk

Postby Atama » Sat Jul 15, 2017 2:41 am

Thank you for pointing this out. This makes perfect sense but it never dawned on me that this might be the case.
“You are a bad person, and should feel bad.”
-TorgHacker (being tongue-in-cheek :D)

ProfessorK
Posts: 396
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2017 10:21 pm

Re: Mastery Perk

Postby ProfessorK » Sat Jul 15, 2017 2:02 pm

ABout that perk.... its useless at character creation time because you have a limit of +3 to any skill, right?

User avatar
Rabbitball
Posts: 738
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2016 7:41 pm

Re: Mastery Perk

Postby Rabbitball » Sat Jul 15, 2017 2:04 pm

You won't see any benefit from it until later, but if you really don't need a second Perk and you are committed to taking that skill to +6 or higher, I won't stop you from being a Master... :mrgreen:
Dominick Riesland, aka Rabbitball
Co-author, Aysle Sourcebook for Torg Eternity
Creator of the Cosmversal Grimoire
"Those who will not follow are doomed to lead"—Anarchist, Magic: the Gathering

User avatar
InertiaKitty
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 2:35 pm
Location: DC Metroplitan area, US

Re: Mastery Perk

Postby InertiaKitty » Sat Jul 15, 2017 2:07 pm

In fact, I think a prereq is to already HAVE a skill at 5 adds, so nobody will qualify for it at CharGen.
"Whaddaya mean 'Twinkies are even a contradiction in Core Earth'?!?!?"

User avatar
TorgHacker
Posts: 4504
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 6:40 pm

Re: Mastery Perk

Postby TorgHacker » Sat Jul 15, 2017 2:11 pm

Correct.
Deanna Gilbert
Torg Eternity designer
Ulisses North America

utsukushi
Posts: 883
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 7:30 pm

Re: Mastery Perk

Postby utsukushi » Sat Jul 15, 2017 2:55 pm

So... 3 adds qualifies you for... Super Skill, qualifies you for... Mastery!

...You still won't actually benefit from it right away, though.

That does bring to mind a quick question, though. Super Skill immediately gives a Skill +2; does that change its advancement cost?

F"rex: I go that route, and start with Fire Combat 3 and Super Skill: Fire Combat, no limitations or Enhancements. So my Fire Combat starts at 5.

When I go to increase it, does it cost me 4 XP, or 6?

It looks to me like it should cost 4, as Super Skill just continues to "stack with" my Skill increases, but that's not quite clear with it directly "increasing a skill by two adds".

User avatar
InertiaKitty
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 2:35 pm
Location: DC Metroplitan area, US

Re: Mastery Perk

Postby InertiaKitty » Sat Jul 15, 2017 3:01 pm

Hrmmm... You might wanna get Skill Mastery the Old Fashioned way, then Super-skill it later when you're at +8. You'll obviously want the Enhancement "Favored", 'cause, duh...
"Whaddaya mean 'Twinkies are even a contradiction in Core Earth'?!?!?"

User avatar
Spatula
Posts: 984
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 7:00 pm

Re: Mastery Perk

Postby Spatula » Sat Jul 15, 2017 3:12 pm

utsukushi wrote:That does bring to mind a quick question, though. Super Skill immediately gives a Skill +2; does that change its advancement cost?

F"rex: I go that route, and start with Fire Combat 3 and Super Skill: Fire Combat, no limitations or Enhancements. So my Fire Combat starts at 5.

When I go to increase it, does it cost me 4 XP, or 6?

It looks to me like it should cost 4, as Super Skill just continues to "stack with" my Skill increases, but that's not quite clear with it directly "increasing a skill by two adds".


It seems to me that bonuses from Super-Skill (or Super-Attribute) are just that: bonuses. So you have Fire Combat 3+2 = 5, which you can just count as 5 for most purposes. I wouldn't have it count for advancement, nor probably for Mastery.

User avatar
InertiaKitty
Posts: 217
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 2:35 pm
Location: DC Metroplitan area, US

Re: Mastery Perk

Postby InertiaKitty » Sat Jul 15, 2017 3:21 pm

Spatula wrote:It seems to me that bonuses from Super-Skill (or Super-Attribute) are just that: bonuses. So you have Fire Combat 3+2 = 5, which you can just count as 5 for most purposes. I wouldn't have it count for advancement, nor probably for Mastery.


That's the way I'd LIKE it, but the wording is:

Core Rules p102 wrote:When Super Skill is taken, the character increases any one skill by two adds.


The Rules Lawyer in me sez that means it counts towards XP costs.
"Whaddaya mean 'Twinkies are even a contradiction in Core Earth'?!?!?"


Return to “Rules Questions (TORG)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Count Thalim and 33 guests