Errata?

mica
Posts: 100
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 4:32 pm

Errata?

Postby mica » Mon Jul 09, 2018 5:40 am

Double Tap is listed as a perk. It is also listed as special feature of 0.38 in the Day One LL scenario but not in Core. Is the scenario an error?

Coup de Grace - mentions the use of 2 CdG as giving +6 damage in the Core Rules but the Destiny Card states +1DB - I presume the Core Rules predates the final version of the Destiny Card (as CdG was +3 damage in oTorg).

Core Rules has the Roll Chart that shows 1 as -10 while on character sheets this is shown as a Fail. Under Mishap it states that all rolls of a 1 are a failure. This is ambiguous as it is in the Mishap section. Does this mean that where there is a chance of a mishap, a 1 is a failure or all instances of a 1 are a failure. If the latter, why have the chart start at 1 (-10)?

Beast Riding and Lakten - the Core Earth Cop character in the Day One LL manages to get to ride a Lakten (player's call). These are broken-in and listed alongside horses under equipment. Should the character keep the creature over multiple scenes/acts just like any other piece of equipment? Should the character be able to take it to other cosms and is this a contradiction? Is a perk (animal companion etc) required? The creature's ability to attack etc sort of sets it above a horse. I was hoping the LL source book would offer a few more pointers...

User avatar
Atama
Posts: 1173
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2017 12:30 am
Location: Auburn, WA

Re: Errata?

Postby Atama » Mon Jul 09, 2018 11:48 am

The LL scenario is in error, it’s a perk not a feature of the gun.

It looks like they used to have Coup de Grace as a flat +3 damage and later changed the card but didn’t update the Core Rules example. The card of course is correct.

All skill rolls of 1 are a failure. But not all rolls of 1. I don’t believe rolling a 1 on an Active Defense, for example, is a failure, but that’s not a skill roll.

The Lakten should be up to the GM.
“You are a bad person, and should feel bad.”
-TorgHacker (being tongue-in-cheek :D)

User avatar
Spatula
Posts: 1042
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 7:00 pm

Re: Errata?

Postby Spatula » Mon Jul 09, 2018 12:30 pm

Errata is in the FAQ linked at the top of this forum. Maybe the thread title should be FAQ & errata?

mica
Posts: 100
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2018 4:32 pm

Re: Errata?

Postby mica » Tue Jul 10, 2018 5:00 am

Cheers.

Active defence is an interesting example. It is a skill roll but with a caveat that the minimum bonus +1 to defence. The question is, can you still disconnect on an active defence? If you are using cyber enhancements/magics and other things that boost defence, this could actually lead to getting a worse result than through not using an active defence. If you are also in armour that is beyond the cosm's axioms you may also be more vulnerable.

User avatar
Gargoyle
Posts: 1797
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2016 8:20 pm

Re: Errata?

Postby Gargoyle » Tue Jul 10, 2018 6:37 am

mica wrote:Cheers.

Active defence is an interesting example. It is a skill roll but with a caveat that the minimum bonus +1 to defence. The question is, can you still disconnect on an active defence? If you are using cyber enhancements/magics and other things that boost defence, this could actually lead to getting a worse result than through not using an active defence. If you are also in armour that is beyond the cosm's axioms you may also be more vulnerable.


Those are passive contradictions though and such gear is handled by the Surge on the drama cards. The action of active defense is actively dodging, bracing yourself, etc. I don't think it should be a contradiction.
"That old chestnut?"

Gargoyle

User avatar
Atama
Posts: 1173
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2017 12:30 am
Location: Auburn, WA

Re: Errata?

Postby Atama » Tue Jul 10, 2018 9:01 am

mica wrote:Cheers.

Active defence is an interesting example. It is a skill roll but with a caveat that the minimum bonus +1 to defence. The question is, can you still disconnect on an active defence? If you are using cyber enhancements/magics and other things that boost defence, this could actually lead to getting a worse result than through not using an active defence. If you are also in armour that is beyond the cosm's axioms you may also be more vulnerable.

An active defense roll is not a skill roll (nor an attribute roll). It is not applied to any single skill or attribute. It is a boost to any and all passive defenses (anything that can be targeted by a physical or supernatural attack).

Mishaps are stated to only apply on skill and attribute rolls, so RAW you can’t mishap on an active defense roll. See page 109 of the Core Rules. And according to the rules on active defenses (page 119) an active defense can’t make you more vulnerable, which reinforces that Mishaps can’t happen.

To cause a Contradiction, you have to be using “tools or abilities that are beyond the axiom limits of a realm or their own reality, or are dependent on World Laws from a different cosm”. I’m not aware of any gear or power that boosts an active defense roll, so there shouldn’t be an opportunity for an active defense to disconnect.

There’s only one possible exception. A shield boosts your Toughness when using an active defense. I could see an argument that you can cause a Contradiction if you are using a shield that is beyond your personal and/or local axioms.

But regardless, an active defense can’t cause a Mishap.
“You are a bad person, and should feel bad.”
-TorgHacker (being tongue-in-cheek :D)

User avatar
TorgHacker
Posts: 4901
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 6:40 pm

Re: Errata?

Postby TorgHacker » Tue Jul 10, 2018 5:17 pm

mica wrote:Double Tap is listed as a perk. It is also listed as special feature of 0.38 in the Day One LL scenario but not in Core. Is the scenario an error?



Already covered in the FAQ. The scenario is incorrect.



Coup de Grace - mentions the use of 2 CdG as giving +6 damage in the Core Rules but the Destiny Card states +1DB - I presume the Core Rules predates the final version of the Destiny Card (as CdG was +3 damage in oTorg).


Correct.

Core Rules has the Roll Chart that shows 1 as -10 while on character sheets this is shown as a Fail. Under Mishap it states that all rolls of a 1 are a failure. This is ambiguous as it is in the Mishap section. Does this mean that where there is a chance of a mishap, a 1 is a failure or all instances of a 1 are a failure. If the latter, why have the chart start at 1 (-10)?


Because the chart should show Fail.

Beast Riding and Lakten - the Core Earth Cop character in the Day One LL manages to get to ride a Lakten (player's call). These are broken-in and listed alongside horses under equipment. Should the character keep the creature over multiple scenes/acts just like any other piece of equipment? Should the character be able to take it to other cosms and is this a contradiction? Is a perk (animal companion etc) required? The creature's ability to attack etc sort of sets it above a horse. I was hoping the LL source book would offer a few more pointers...


GM's call. But since Animal Companions are Perks...
Deanna Gilbert
Torg Eternity designer
Ulisses North America

User avatar
TorgHacker
Posts: 4901
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 6:40 pm

Re: Errata?

Postby TorgHacker » Tue Jul 10, 2018 5:30 pm

Atama wrote:An active defense roll is not a skill roll (nor an attribute roll). It is not applied to any single skill or attribute. It is a boost to any and all passive defenses (anything that can be targeted by a physical or supernatural attack).

Mishaps are stated to only apply on skill and attribute rolls, so RAW you can’t mishap on an active defense roll. See page 109 of the Core Rules. And according to the rules on active defenses (page 119) an active defense can’t make you more vulnerable, which reinforces that Mishaps can’t happen.

To cause a Contradiction, you have to be using “tools or abilities that are beyond the axiom limits of a realm or their own reality, or are dependent on World Laws from a different cosm”. I’m not aware of any gear or power that boosts an active defense roll, so there shouldn’t be an opportunity for an active defense to disconnect.

There’s only one possible exception. A shield boosts your Toughness when using an active defense. I could see an argument that you can cause a Contradiction if you are using a shield that is beyond your personal and/or local axioms.

But regardless, an active defense can’t cause a Mishap.


If an active defense activates an ability, piece of gear, or other 'thing' that is contradictory, and the roll is a contradiction, then you disconnect. A shield is the main example because it activates a Toughness boost when you do an active defense.
Deanna Gilbert
Torg Eternity designer
Ulisses North America

utsukushi
Posts: 963
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 7:30 pm

Re: Errata?

Postby utsukushi » Tue Jul 10, 2018 5:42 pm

Young whippersnappers these days, complaining about Disconnecting on an Active Defense. In my day, we had to make fifty possible Disconnection rolls every time we crossed a border! And then six more if wondered if we might have left the toaster plugged in! And we like--... well, actually, we hated that and nobody did it.

Because the chart should show Fail.

Somebody rolled a 1 when they were making the chart?

User avatar
TorgHacker
Posts: 4901
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 6:40 pm

Re: Errata?

Postby TorgHacker » Tue Jul 10, 2018 5:53 pm

More like didn't change it when we changed everything else. I'd say 90% of the issues we've had were the result of small changes in one place that didn't get changed everywhere.
Deanna Gilbert
Torg Eternity designer
Ulisses North America


Return to “Rules Questions (TORG)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests