For those who want contribute but don't want to go over old ground it would be good to know.

pkitty wrote:Helped a player build a dwarf tonight and had a few questions (and one suggestion) regarding Runemaker:
1. Carving a "quick rune" as an action requires a roll against dwarven runes. What about carving a permanent rune into equipment -- does that still require a skill roll? The rules aren't explicit here, and I read it as "yes because assume the rules from earlier still apply" while he read it as "no because this is a different situation and it doesn't say it does."
2. Can an item have multiple permanent runes? Can I give my axe a Wind rune and Stone rune so it staggers and is favored?
3. Permanent runes can be switched on and off. So can you carve more than three permanent runes, as long as you activate no more than three at once?
4. I figure the answer to #3 is "no," but if so then does that mean that once you carve three permanent runes, you're done forever? You can't upgrade your gear, etc.?
5. Also, if the answer to #3 is "no," there's no reason you'd ever need to bother switching off Stone or Wind runes, right? It's just for things like Fire, that would be inconvenient?
And a suggestion, from my player:
6. It's a bit hard to swallow the idea that someone can only carry three pebbles, when it seems that the runemaker is just smoothing out stones that are otherwise normal. Upon careful reflection, we realized that this would make much more sense if it was stated (or even just rephrased to imply) that there was a bit of partial enchantment going on here. If it's not too late, just changing "can make new stones" to "can magically prepare new stones" would be helpful.
GeniusCodeMonkey wrote:@Deanna, are there any Asyle books you haven't got feedback from yet?
For those who want contribute but don't want to go over old ground it would be good to know.
TorgHacker wrote:Correct.
It's already gone to print.
pkitty wrote:TorgHacker wrote:Correct.
Thanks for all of the clarifications! Makes sense.It's already gone to print.
Nice! Does that mean we backers get final-version PDFs soon?
cloudshaper2k wrote:Note that "It's gone to print," means a product is now subject to the Law of the Inevitable Typo which states that no matter how many eyes review the text a mistake will make it's way through to print.
cloudshaper2k wrote:Note that "It's gone to print," means a product is now subject to the Law of the Inevitable Typo which states that no matter how many eyes review the text a mistake will make it's way through to print.
pkitty wrote:And a suggestion, from my player:
6. It's a bit hard to swallow the idea that someone can only carry three pebbles, when it seems that the runemaker is just smoothing out stones that are otherwise normal. Upon careful reflection, we realized that this would make much more sense if it was stated (or even just rephrased to imply) that there was a bit of partial enchantment going on here. If it's not too late, just changing "can make new stones" to "can magically prepare new stones" would be helpful.
Spatula wrote:pkitty wrote:And a suggestion, from my player:
6. It's a bit hard to swallow the idea that someone can only carry three pebbles, when it seems that the runemaker is just smoothing out stones that are otherwise normal. Upon careful reflection, we realized that this would make much more sense if it was stated (or even just rephrased to imply) that there was a bit of partial enchantment going on here. If it's not too late, just changing "can make new stones" to "can magically prepare new stones" would be helpful.
The limit here is no different than the alchemist’s or bulletsmith’s, and is not unheard of in other systems - that the runemaker can only imbue magic into a certain number of objects at once, not that they can only carry X stones.
Return to “Rules Questions (TORG)”
Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 27 guests