utsukushi wrote:Disconnection, though - if your defense involves a contradiction, I totally think you can still Disconnect.
defense though? Remember, you’re not rolling for a defense. You’re rolling a bonus for all
defenses. Dodge, melee weapons, unarmed, interaction attacks, even willpower. Anyone who attacks you until the end of the round when you make an Active Defense has to contend with whatever bonus you rolled. (That’s in the official errata.)
And that just underscores the fact that you’re not making a skill roll when you Actively Defend, and disconnects are the result of skill rolls and Surges.
Let’s give a hypothetical. Someone tries to Taunt you. You choose to respond with an Active Defense. You’re an Aysle native in Orrorsh carrying a Diffrax shield (which is a 4-case contradiction). You roll a 3. In your opinion, should they disconnect? The shield isn’t even in play right now, so far the only defense involved is against being Taunted.
But if they don’t disconnect, and then a henchman tries to swing a sword at them, hey now they have a +1 to melee defense from their Active Defense, and they can also include that shield which would have been a contradiction on a 3. So do they instantly disconnect?
RAW, per the rules you can’t mishap or disconnect using an Active Defense. As it should be, that should be a no-risk maneuver because you’re sacrificing all actions (except simple actions) for a defense bonus that more than half the time is only going to be +1. (That and you also add a shield defense bonus to Toughness if you’re hit.) You’re giving up the chance to act this turn, so you don’t suffer the potential consequences of rolling poorly if you did take an action.