Hello all! Have been reading up on some threads while ADMIN approved my account. Finally glad to be here.
With that said... guess I'll dive right in.
On the subject of “RELOADS”, according to the Wrath & Glory Core rules (p. 219) it states, “There is no single set definition of a Reload. The ammunition may be described as a single magazine, belt, or drum of ammunition; a bandolier of energy shells; a canister of promethium; and various other more exotic munitions. The description is merely for cosmetic purposes and has no in-game effect.” (I.e. the Reloads are just a number and NOT specific to the weapon being reloaded.)
To me this means if you have a ranged weapon, say a Laspistol, you have the ability to fire your weapon normally throughout the combat (near infinite). But if you wanted to expend one of your 3 Reloads you start with to do something special with your weapon, like perform the Salvo Combat Option (p. 222), you would now be down to 2 Reloads.
In addition let's say, through the course of adventuring (or though Ascension) you acquire an additional Ranged Weapon, say a Bolt Pistol. Now you have two choices to use your Reloads on.
You're feeling frisky now. So during your next firefight you decide to burn a Reload and use your trusty Las-Pistol to lay down some Suppressive Fire (p. 223). The next combat round you decide to use a Multi-Action to Reload your Laspistol (lowering your 3 Reloads to 2) and in the same turn use one of the 2 Reloads you now have left to do a Salvo with your shiny new Bolt Pistol for that extra punch. Next round you spend an Action to Reload the Bolt Pistol... now you are down to 1 Reload. This can continue until you are out of Reloads.
In a different example let's talk about “consumable/expendable” ammunition, like grenades. Let's say you are a mighty Tactical Space Marine and you start off with “3 frag and krak grenades” (p. 129). During combat you decide to lob a frag grenade by hand
into a mob of Orks. BOOM! Now you're down to 2 frag, and 3 krak grenades. (OR, it could even mean you just have “3 grenades”... and they could be a mix of frag and krak? I'm actually leaning towards this. But let's just stick to starting with 3 of each for this example.)Side Note:
Since the grenade (thrown by hand) has a Salvo Rating of “-” you would only be able to use a Reload to perform a Suppressive Fire attack with it, you could not do a Salvo or Multi-Attack. (see pages 220-223.)
For your next firefight you decide to whip out your Voss Pattern Grenade Launcher (p. 286) and start bringing the pain! You load a frag (or krak) grenade into the launcher and perform a Salvo Attack. During this attack you use one of your Reloads (to do something cool — the Salvo) AND a frag grenade (the specific ammunition). Assuming you were “fully loaded” you would now have 2 frag/3 krak grenades and 2 Reloads left.
Another example would be to take your VPGL and launch a frag grenade into that mob of Heretics, consuming one grenade— and perform a Multi-attack (pgs. 220 & 222)—using one Reload. You would be able to do this since the VPGL has a Salvo rating of 1.
Hope this is all making sense... basically put, think of it like a movie. You are in the midst of a firefight... your buddies are pinned down and one of your squad-mates ducks behind cover yelling, "I'm out!” You toss him a magazine saying, “Last one... make it count!” Filled with the courage only Faith in the Emperor can give, he surges forward and yells, ”Cadia stands!” emptying his clip into your enemy, killing them all!
You just gave your buddy one of your Reloads and he did something amazing with it.
(This action is allowed, within reason. “Reloads may only be acquired, shared, or given to other characters if it makes sense narratively in context.” CORE p. 219.)
P.S. CorwynNITessine, perhaps it's more likely there was a single mistake on the number of stikkbombs Ork Kommandos have, instead of several mistakes on all the other Archetypes that have grenades...?