mica wrote:I was under the impression that for ords there is still a difference between disconnection and transformation.
So while they may disconnect when trying to fire a rifle in the LL or fix the boat with a wrench they were not actually transformed.
Example - the disconnected marines in the lifeboat are more in tune with the LL and beginning to wonder why they have an odd looking club in their hands but kind of recall that it is a gun, same thing for the mechanic with modern clothes and a wrench. At that point though they are simply disconnected core-earth.
They still presumably have some possibility and if they step into a hard point area will reconnect but are not instinctively fighting the new reality like storm knights so their gear will not actually flicker between realities.
Correct. In my (admittedly not technically official, because it's not on paper, but I'm the one most to blame for the reality rule details) 'understanding' of how this works is that there are two pipes provided by the Everlaw of Two that connects a person to their reality. The first is high bandwidth, and this provides Possibility Energy to do contradictions... (it is a lower bandwidth than reality-rated folks though).
When you're disconnected, the Everlaw of One has cut that pipe provided by the Everlaw of Two.
But there's a second connection that is extremely low bandwidth but still provides a connection to their home reality. It's not enough to allow an Ord (or a disconnected Storm Knight) to do contradictions when disconnected. But it's enough to allow Storm Knights to reconnect even outside their reality, and allows Ords to connect when they're inside theirs.
The phasing in and out does represent the conflict between the Everlaw of One attempting to transform the character and the Everlaw of Two to reconnect them. And eventually one of the two will win. There's no scenario where a Storm Knight disconnects and cannot reconnect. He either reconnects or transforms...one or the other.
Everlaw of Two: "Here's Possibility energy! Do that magic!"
Everlaw of One: "Do do do ... wait....none of that!" <snip>
Everlaw of Two: "Okay, I'll just plug you in again..."
Everlaw of One: "NO YOU WON'T"
Two: "YES I WILL"
One: "NO YOU WON'T"
<if the Storm Knight reconnects>
Two: "HA! SEE!?"
One: "... FINE. But I've got my eyes on you. Don't you be doing any silly stuff."
<if the Storm Knight transforms>
One: "THERE! All better! See? Aren't you glad that Core Earther isn't messing things up anymore?"
Two: "What Core Earther?"
Because Ords don't have that attempt, the Everlaw of One is content to just disconnect the Ord. No need to spend more energy than it needs to. Though 1 out of 20 times it accidentally is a bit too enthusiastic in cutting the Ord off.
The Meta-law of One is that the Everlaw of One is LAZY.
Their actual items etc will transform when they do and it is at that point they are stripped of their (trace) possibilities. That said, as they are in the LL their items will also be subject to natural transformation, same as any item left unattended. So a disconnected ord with an ak47 in his hand tramping through the LL may find that it transforms into a spear even though his clothes remain modern.
Correct. Though even his clothes will transform eventually too...and it won't take very long. At most 1 day in a Pure Zone, 1 week in a Dominant Zone.